Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (37) - TV Shows (9) - DVDs (2)

Looper review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 10 March 2013 10:32 (A review of Looper)

Taut and suspenseful, a gloomy future is painted fairly well. Levitt is a kick-ass actor and I think he's going to be a powerhouse in the industry. Good performances and slick editing. Enough twists and turns to keep you guessing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Company Men review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 10 March 2013 01:25 (A review of The Company Men)

Compelling story about corporate downsizing in order to eke that much more out of the bottom line. A good cast with good performances makes this watchable, but I was a little disappointed with the ending.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Magic of Belle Isle review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 10 March 2013 01:50 (A review of The Magic of Belle Isle)

Another redemption type story but enjoyable enough. Kudos to Freeman and Madsen for giving it their best. Sorry to see such a middling effort from Rob Reiner.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Take Me Home review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 10 March 2013 01:44 (A review of Take Me Home)

Kinda feel-good and happy-endey kinda thing. The chemistry wasn't really there (ironically) but it was an amiable road picture nonetheless. Jaeger does a good job wearing all three hats.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Interesting yet ultimately unsatisfying

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 7 March 2013 04:28 (A review of Survivors)

I just finished watching the 2 series. As an interesting diversion, it worked, and I finally got used to liking characters that I didn't like so much. But, in the end, the repeated stupidity of their actions was a huge letdown. So many of the situations were so phony and forced that a huge suspension of belief was required to move forward and try to finish watching the story. A pedestrian effort on the part of the writers. I guess the original story was based on a book. I could try reading that at some point since I'm sure that it flows better than this show. I am glad they largely encapsulated the storyline and gave a rather satisfying finish, even with a bit of a twist at the end.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Identity Thief review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 22 February 2013 03:27 (A review of Identity Thief)

A slight yet amiable comedy about, what else, redemption. Fairly predictable but I enjoyed Melissa McCarthy. I wouldn't want you to spend your money here, certainly not at an overpriced theater. A simple little time-killer for Netflix streaming or the like. Similar to the conclusion of an Ebert review I read recently, if you go in with low expectations, you should be fairly satisfied.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

God Bless America review

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 2 December 2012 01:18 (A review of God Bless America)

I liked the structure of this movie and even a lot of what it had to say as social commentary. However, the blase-blase attitude the film had about killing should have been one of the things Frank had a problem with...movies and entertainment that have devalued life to the point where so many of these Jersey Shore watching types might have no compunction about picking up a gun and 2nd Amendment-ing people without so much as shedding a tear. After that unbelievably long sentence, let me just say that God Bless America was a fairly interesting film and I encourage people to acquire their own take on the points being made.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Red State review

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 2 December 2012 01:09 (A review of Red State)

Interesting, I suppose, in a violent way, but the violence overshadowed any greater point that the movie might have had to make. Maybe the story points weren't fleshed out well enough, but I didn't care about any of these people so trying to come up with some emotion as they were all being shot was a hard sell. I've really liked Kevin Smith's work in the past, but I don't think this one measured up.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tomorrow, When the War Began review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 25 October 2012 11:17 (A review of Tomorrow, When the War Began)

A really interesting "teen" movie. El and her friends go away for the weekend only to find themselves in occupied territory when they return. Kudos to Caitlin Stasey who delevers a really good performance. Lots of action and some decent SFX.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

GoodFellas review

Posted : 5 years, 1 month ago on 14 September 2012 02:56 (A review of GoodFellas)

Brutal, racist, hateful, loving, joyful, saddening, frightening, gripping. There are not enough adjectives here. This is an American great film. An American epic. It takes you through Henry Hill's charmed life. So many things happen and so many strong and wonderful moments. Among my top 15 or 20 movies of all time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block