Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (37) - TV Shows (9) - DVDs (2)

Deep Impact review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 6 September 2012 11:31 (A review of Deep Impact)

umm... Well, it was good except for the fact that it wasn't. Boilerplate plot and surreal motivations/outcomes don't help. No characters connect with the audience and the plot tension seems to disappear with inevitability. Tea Leoni doesn't make for a good heroine, and/or not the most likeable character. I'd seen this movie years ago and thought better of it, but watching it recently made me realize how lame it actually was. The Core (middling end-o-the-world, journey-to-the-center-of-the-earth type stuff) is a contemporary of Deep Impact, is a more 1nteresting and entertaining film.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mission: Impossible review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 6 September 2012 11:10 (A review of Mission: Impossible)

A jam-packed entertainment treat. Definitely slows down early-middle, but they keepo the plot-flow at full pace. Emmanuelle Beart may have betrayed Ethan, but she looks so damed good so who cares?


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Captain America: The First Avenger review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 6 September 2012 11:06 (A review of Captain America: The First Avenger)

I've enjoyed some of the Marvel comics franchises, and I was really getting into this when it seemed to take an "ordinary" or "mediocre" turn. Not sure exactly where I felt it, but the film never really made me care. Kudos to Hugo Weaving for being his usual bad self, but I thought his character here was fairly lacking. Hayley Atwell is beautiful but her actions were "comically" predictable. Kudos for the graphics guys that transformed Chris Evans, but I never came to identify with him. Once he was the Captain, there seemed to be no angst, and that made his transformation less interesting and compelling. If you generally like the Marvel stuff, I'm sure you'll like this one. However, it felt like a cheat in order to bring "The Avengers" to the screen with some pre-establishment background. My favorite in the Marvel franchise is still X-Men 2, but I must say I haven't seen all of them.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

No Ordinary Family review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 14 August 2012 04:55 (A review of No Ordinary Family)

This is a fairly good show with a high potential. The suburban nuclear family is bestowed with supernatural powers that change their lives, and the show chronicles the events and the dilemmas they face because of their new abilities. It's a great concept but there needs to be better execution. I am fairly amaazed by some of the dumb decisions that are made by central characters in order to further the plot. This happens so much it becomes a downer and makes me like the show less overall. No Ordinary Family: Ordinary writing. I guess the show didn't make it to a second season and I'm not surprised.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Meridian review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 4 July 2012 07:26 (A review of Meridian)

On the whole a terrible movie, but I have to give this one a higher rating. Worth the price of a ticket and more to see Sherilyn Fenn and Charlie Spradling. Makes up for the rest of this piece o' junk.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 24 June 2012 03:53 (A review of Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines)

I think they went to the well too many times for this last installment before the T4 re-think. The "bad guy" was even more unstoppable and the circumstances more improbable. I liked Nick Stahl and Claire Danes. Also, the first chase and crash sequence is a favorite.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

2012 review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 19 June 2012 08:59 (A review of 2012)

Crappy dialogue and a preposterous plot, but the devastation and earthquake scenes were spectacular.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Touch review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 16 June 2012 02:44 (A review of Touch)

Really good so far! I was wondering how they could stretch out the concept, but it makes for satisfying TV for now. And now Maria Bello as Amelia's mother? Brilliant!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Heroes review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 16 June 2012 02:36 (A review of Heroes)

Absolutely loved this show first season. We were getting to know the characters and there was a sensze of anticipation with every new episode. Unfortunately, it was a slow and steady decline over the next couple of seasons. It became fairly goofy and stretched credibility. At least we got to see some work from the lovely Dawn Olivieri!


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 2 3 4 5Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block